Bob Marley

“It is life in slow motion,

it’s the heart in reverse,

it’s a hope and a half:

too much and too little at once.”

– The Wait; Rainer Maria Rilke

I’m trying to cultivate my literary side by reading poetry as often as I can. Well actually,my geeky self is just trying to kill boredom by reading poems online. My  recent favorites were written by a German poet in the person of Rainer Maria Rilke. I first came across his works after reading a book entitled “Ghost Dance”. I’ve forgotten about him since, but I remember liking the lyrical quality of his poems. Plus, I was also intrigued by his name. I was trying to figure out if he was a ‘he’ or a ‘she’.

I’m not going to talk about him really. I want to talk about this particular stanza in his poem “The Wait”. Lately, I feel like I’m doing a lot of waiting. Waiting for things, waiting on people, waiting in vain. Haha. The world has suddenly slowed down, and I’m slightly disoriented. I told a friend about this suspicion of the world’s sluggish pace. He said that the world has always paced that way-neither slow nor fast- maybe it’s just me who has gotten more hurried and impatient. I wonder if that is true though.

I am impatient most times, but I don’t think I’ve gotten more impatient. There is just something so unnerving about waiting. Unnerving. How come I find waiting unnerving? What I discovered is that I don’t like waiting, not because I’m impatient, or because I believe I’m entitled to be served right away. It has more to do with pragmatics. I think that the time I spent waiting could be used to do other things. Or finish chores. Or I don’t know. Just something. That is why I often bring a book when I know I’ll be waiting in line for a long time. It gives me a sense of accomplishment, an assurance that time was not wasted.

Leave a Reply

